
portalgames.pl

FAQ/ERRATA Version 2.0
Last Updated: 1.18.2016

Hello! We are sorry that you are having problems with our game, Stronghold 2nd Edition. 
We hope this document will help you answer any questions or concerns you may have.  If 
you don’t find your answer here, please accept our sincere appology. You can contact me 
directly at chevee@portalgames.pl and I will personally answer your questions as soon as 
possible.

I will continue to maintain this document as new questions arise to help future players. 
Thank you for helping to make this document as solid as possible!

What’s New
New entries are marked with a red #
•	 Rule Change: Moving Around the Stronghold - Swap Spaces  (p5)
•	 Rule Change: Golden Rule (p6)
•	 Added multiple new questions and answers
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Invader Units
Q: Do discarded Invader units, from paying for Actions or lost during an Assault, go back into the 
Bag or are they removed from the game?

A: They are removed from the game.

SIEGE MACHINES

Catapult/Trebuchet
Q: If a Catapult or Trebuchet hits a Tower and that tower has a Cannon, Pole, or Bay Window, the 
Defender’s item is destroyed. What happens to any Marksmen present? What happens to the Mark-
smen if no defense mechanism is present?

A: Nothing happens to the Marksmen. They are safe in the Tower!

EQUIPMENT
Q: Can invader equipment be built at a wall section with no actual invading units there?

Yes.

RITUALS

Bloodstone Ritual
Q: The Catapults and Trebuchets do not kill defender units. Will this enable them to do so?

A: Yes

Blood Magic
“Sacrifice at least 5 Goblins to Rituals” 

The use of “Sacrifice” here means that you must spend 5 Goblins total when paying for Rituals.

    GALE
Q: If a player tries to move to a wall, and a Gale is revealed there, do they have to continue the move, 
or can they decide not to and avoid losing the extra hourglass?

You have to continue declared action and spend an extra hourglass.

Q: What happens in the above example if the defender only had 1 hourglass left?

The move is cancelled and the hourglass is lost.

Q: Do you have to place all 3 ritual tokens when performing a ritual action?

No.
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MANEUVERS
Q: Can you execute the minor and major maneuvers in either order?

Yes.

ORDERS
Q: On page 9 it says that Order tokens may be given to units „engaged in combat”. What does that 
mean?

This is flavor text which means: You need to have units at a wall section.

TRAPS

Troll Trap
Q: My opponent put a Troll Trap on the path connecting a Rampart and Wall. The Wall has a maxi-
mum occupancy of 3.  Can I move 4 units, which include a Troll, to this wall since only three of the 
units will make it to the wall (because the Troll will get caught in the trap.)

A: Yes

MARAUDERS
Q: Do marauder units count against the total number of units you are allowed to move from a ram-
part during a maneuver action, or as they purely a bonus?

They are bonus. IF you did a minor maneuver and moved five units past the marauders, the two bo-
nus units would join the group for a total of seven.

OBJECTIVES

Not a Single Stone and Experienced Gunners
“Destroy 2 Wall sections. “

To Destroy a Wall section, you must remove all Wall pieces from that section. Cauldrons are not con-
sidered. 

If the Defender builds a Wall piece on a previously destroyed section, you may still count that section 
for this Objective. 
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DEFENSE PLANS

This is Agaria!
“Choose 1 Wall section: Kill a number of Invader Units equal to 3x the total Strength of your Units 
killed there.”

Total the Strength of your Killed units and kill a number of Invader units with the same total 
Strength.

Example: The Invader has 2 Trolls, 1 Orcs, and 1 Goblin present and you have 2 Soldiers, and 1 Marksmen. 
The total Advantage is 2 for the Invader and you must lose 1 Soldier. If you play ‘This is Agaria!’, on this 
Wall section, you may kill Invader Units with a total of 6 Strength. In this example, you may kill the 2 
Trolls.  All Defender Units killed this turn are removed from the game and are not placed at the Hospital. 
Discard ‘This is Agaria!’ after this turn.

Farlon’s Hope
“Kill any number of your Units in the Courtyard to kill enemy Units of equal Strength at 1 Foregro-
und.”

You may discard any number of your Units in the Courtyard. Total the Strength of the units discar-
ded. Choose one Foreground and discard a number of Invader Units with the same total Strength.

BARRACKS
Q: In the Barracks, the effects let you „remove” a unit and „replace” it with another unit. Where is 
the unit removed to?

Back to your supply (off the board)

CATHEDRAL
Q: Does the Marksmen’s Blessing require all Marksman on its side to target the same rampart?

Yes, they must all target the same rampart.

Q: Can the targeted rampart of Marksman’s Blessing be on any side of the Stronghold?

It must be on the same side as the Blessings token.

GUARDS
Q: For the Guards Action, when you „sacrifice” the marksman, where does it go?

Remove it from game (rather than send it to the hospital).
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MOVING AROUND THE STRONGHOLD
    SWAP SPACES
Rulebook v1.2 incorrectly states: Instead of moving to a free space, a Unit may swap places with ano-
ther Unit anywhere on the board.

This should read:

Instead of moving to a free space, a Unit may swap places with another Unit in an adjacent space. 
Heroes may also swap in this manner.

HERO ORDERS
Q: There is a Hero Order that lets you move a unit to any building (except the Guards or Barracks), in 
order to add an hourglass token there. Does the unit have to stay there indefinitely?

No. You can move him using an hourglass as normal.GENERAL RULES
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GENERAL RULES
    GOLDEN RULE
Rulebook v1.2 incorrectly states: Any time a Unit is killed as the result of a combat or player action, 
the player who won the combat, or executed the action, chooses which units to kill. 

This should read:

Any time your Units are killed as a result of combat or action, your opponent chooses which of your 
units are killed.

Q: Are the Action cards that go face down during setup considered hidden or open information?

A: Open

Q: At the start of a round, if the invader chooses to resolve the Briefing card, but doesn’t take the 
Exchange action, does the Defender still get a turn to spend their hourglasses? 

Yes. 

Q: How many hourglasses does the Defender have at the start of the first round, before the Invader 
has taken any actions?

Six. Four from the setup and 2 more that they receive at the start of every round.

Q: Are Hero discs considered units?

No.

Q: Why there are different numbers of units shown on the Invader Order tokens? For example, Go-
blin Fury is shows 4 goblins on the token, but if there are 5 goblins at the wall, don’t they all they all 
go berserk?

The number of units shown on these tokens mean nothing, just the color.

Q: At most, how many walls pieces can be built at a wall section?

As many as you have pieces to put there.

Q: At most, how many Traps may be built on a single path?

One.
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Q: When winning a combat, can Advantage be used to remove Wall Pieces, Heroes, Cauldrons, Lad-
ders, etc?

No. Advantage may only be used to kill Units.

Q: Can you explain breaching a wall in more detail?

To breach, the Invader must win the Melee combat on a wall, and have an Advantage high enough to 
defeat all Units on that wall, and THEN, still have at least 1 advantage remaining. If they do, even if 
there is a wall piece, or Hero there, the wall is breached.

Q: Can you explain breaching in less detail?

If the Invader has Advantage greater than the strength of all the Defender units on the wall, they bre-
ach the wall and win the game.

CANNONS SHOOTING

May shoot Units on Ramparts 1 and 2 
and on Foreground 8

May shoot Units on Ramparts 1, 2 and 3 
and on Foreground 8

May shoot Units on Ramparts  2 and 3 
and on Foreground 8

May shoot Units on Ramparts  4 and 
5 and on Foreground 9

May shoot Units on Ramparts  4, 5 and 6  
and on Foreground 9

May shoot Units on Ramparts  5, 6 and 7 
and on Foreground 9

May shoot Units on Ramparts 6 and 7 
and on Foreground 9
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movements (both ways) shooting of Marksmen in Towers

TOWERS: MOVEMENT AND SHOOTING

MOVEMENT AROUND THE STRONGHOLD

Q: Are the two wall sections adjacent to the front gate considered adjacent?
No.

    ADJACENCY
As shown below, Wall sections on either side of a Tower are considered adjacent. Additionally, Bar-
racks, Guards, and Courtyard are considered adjacent to all spaces on the board.

EXAMPLE: You want to move a Hero from the right side of the Stronghold to the left. This would cost 2 Ho-
urglasses. One Hourglass to first move the Hero to the Courtyard and the second Hourglass to move from the 
courtyard to the desired wall section.
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